Updated September 13, 2026
We rewrote this comparison after re-checking both projects. An earlier version said the OpenClawDesktop.com GitHub repository returned 404 and that the site shipped no installer. That is not true today: the repository is public and its v1.1.0 release has macOS and Windows installers. Every fact below was checked on September 13, 2026.
Bias disclosure. We make OpenClaw Easy. We are not affiliated with openclawdesktop.com. Facts about their app come from their homepage, their GitHub repository and its v1.1.0 release; where they do not state something, the table says so.
The short answer
OpenClaw Easy and OpenClawDesktop.com are two independent desktop apps for OpenClaw, published by different teams. Both are free to download and both offer macOS and Windows installers. OpenClaw Easy (version 2026.10.1, Apache-2.0 licence) bundles the OpenClaw runtime into one installer: an Apple-notarized macOS DMG of about 375 MB and a Windows EXE of about 250 MB that is not yet code-signed. It sets up WhatsApp, Telegram, Slack, Discord, Feishu and LINE, and supports local Ollama models. OpenClaw Desktop from openclawdesktop.com (version 1.1.0, released June 5, 2026, MIT licence per its package.json) is a Tauri app of about 3 to 5 MB that installs Node.js and OpenClaw on your system during setup. Its source lists Telegram, Discord, Slack, Feishu, iMessage, WhatsApp, WeChat and DingTalk channels, and its site also sells an optional $800 one-time setup service.
- OpenClaw Easy may suit you if you want one installer that already includes the OpenClaw runtime, an Apple-notarized Mac build, and LINE alongside the major chat apps.
- OpenClaw Desktop (openclawdesktop.com) may suit you if you prefer a small Tauri app that installs OpenClaw into your system Node.js, or you want to pay someone to set OpenClaw up for you.
Side-by-side comparison
| OpenClaw Easy | OpenClaw Desktop (openclawdesktop.com) | |
|---|---|---|
| Publisher | OpenClaw Easy team (openclaw-easy.com) | GitHub account JuanQRCode; the site's schema names "OpenClaw Community" |
| Current version | 2026.10.1 (date-based versions) | v1.1.0, published June 5, 2026 — the only GitHub release |
| macOS installer | DMG, about 375 MB, macOS 12 or later | DMG for Apple Silicon (4.4 MB) and Intel (4.7 MB); build config sets macOS 10.15 minimum |
| Windows installer | EXE, about 250 MB, Windows 10 and 11 | Setup EXE (3.0 MB) and MSI (4.2 MB); site lists Windows 10+ |
| Linux | No installer | Release notes mention .deb and .AppImage, but no Linux files are attached to v1.1.0 |
| Signing | macOS: Developer ID signed and Apple-notarized. Windows: not code-signed yet (SmartScreen may warn); EV signing planned | Not stated. Public build config sets no Apple signing or notarization credentials and no Windows certificate; update bundles carry Tauri updater signatures |
| OpenClaw runtime | Bundled inside the installer | Not bundled; setup checks for Node.js, Git and OpenClaw and installs Node.js via Homebrew (macOS) or winget (Windows) |
| Download source | openclaw-easy.com/downloads | GitHub Releases, linked from the homepage |
| Licence | Apache-2.0 (openclaw-easy/openclaw-easy-desktop) | MIT, declared in package.json and README (JuanQRCode/openclawdesktop) |
| Channels | WhatsApp, Telegram, Slack, Discord, Feishu, LINE | App source: Telegram, Discord, Slack, Feishu, iMessage, WhatsApp, WeChat, DingTalk. Homepage highlights WhatsApp, Telegram, Discord |
| Local models | Ollama supported | Ollama listed on the homepage |
| Price | Free | Free; optional "Done For You" setup for a one-time $800 |
Where the two apps differ
Bundled runtime vs system install
OpenClaw Easy ships the OpenClaw runtime inside the app, which is why its installers are hundreds of megabytes. Nothing else needs to be installed first. OpenClaw Desktop is built with Tauri, so its installers are only a few megabytes. Its setup wizard checks your machine for Node.js, Git and the OpenClaw CLI, installs Node.js through Homebrew on macOS or winget on Windows when it is missing, and can install the OpenClaw gateway as a system service. If you already manage Node.js yourself, the smaller app may feel familiar; if you want no system-wide changes, the bundled approach avoids them.
Signing and first launch
Our macOS DMG is Developer ID signed and notarized, so Gatekeeper opens it without a warning. Our Windows EXE is not code-signed yet, so SmartScreen may show a warning the first time you run it. OpenClawDesktop.com does not say whether its installers are signed. Its public release workflow and Tauri config contain no Apple notarization credentials or Windows certificate, so expect that macOS or Windows may ask you to confirm before the app opens.
Channels
Both apps cover WhatsApp, Telegram, Slack, Discord and Feishu. OpenClaw Easy also sets up LINE. OpenClaw Desktop's source code includes setup screens for iMessage, WeChat and DingTalk.
Pricing and releases
Both apps are free to download; you pay your AI provider for usage, or nothing if you run a local Ollama model. OpenClawDesktop.com also offers a paid, one-time installation service. OpenClaw Easy uses date-based versions and is at 2026.10.1. OpenClaw Desktop's v1.1.0 release and its most recent commit are both dated June 5, 2026.
How to check these facts yourself
- Their releases and installers: github.com/JuanQRCode/openclawdesktop/releases
- Their licence, build and signing settings:
package.json,src-tauri/tauri.conf.jsonand.github/workflows/release.ymlin that repository - Their pricing, channels and reviews: the openclawdesktop.com homepage, which also shows a 4.9/5 rating, a 10,000+ downloads figure and three first-name reviews (Sarah M., Michael T., Jennifer K.) without linking a source for them
- Our installers, sizes and system requirements: the OpenClaw Easy download page
Frequently asked questions
Is openclawdesktop.com the same project as OpenClaw Easy?
No. OpenClaw Desktop from openclawdesktop.com and OpenClaw Easy from openclaw-easy.com are separate apps from separate publishers. We are not affiliated with openclawdesktop.com, did not build its app, and have no control over its site or releases. Both apps set up the same open-source OpenClaw agent.
Does openclawdesktop.com ship a working installer?
Yes. Its GitHub repository, JuanQRCode/openclawdesktop, is public, and release v1.1.0 (published June 5, 2026) includes macOS DMGs for Apple Silicon and Intel, a Windows setup EXE and a Windows MSI. The homepage download buttons link to those files. An earlier version of this page said the repository returned 404; that is not true today.
Which app is code-signed?
The OpenClaw Easy macOS DMG is Developer ID signed and notarized by Apple. The OpenClaw Easy Windows EXE is not code-signed yet, so Windows SmartScreen may warn on first launch; EV code signing is planned. OpenClawDesktop.com does not state whether its installers are signed or notarized. Its public build configuration sets no Apple signing or notarization credentials and no Windows certificate, so its installers may also trigger macOS or Windows security prompts.
What licence does each app use?
OpenClaw Easy is licensed under Apache-2.0. OpenClawDesktop.com's app declares the MIT licence in its package.json and README; its repository has no separate LICENSE file that GitHub detects.
Why are there several OpenClaw desktop apps?
OpenClaw itself is open source, so anyone can build a desktop app around it. The apps differ in whether they bundle the OpenClaw runtime or install it on your system, which messaging channels they set up, how they are signed, and how they are priced. We also compare OpenClaw Easy with ClawX, claw.so and MyClaw on separate pages.
Which one should I download?
Choose OpenClaw Easy if you want one installer that already contains the OpenClaw runtime, an Apple-notarized Mac build, and setup screens for WhatsApp, Telegram, Slack, Discord, Feishu and LINE. Choose OpenClaw Desktop from openclawdesktop.com if you prefer a small Tauri app that installs Node.js and OpenClaw on your system, or want its optional paid setup service. We make OpenClaw Easy, so weigh our view accordingly.
Bottom line
Both are real, free OpenClaw desktop apps. OpenClaw Easy is the self-contained option: runtime included, notarized on macOS, LINE supported. OpenClaw Desktop from openclawdesktop.com is the lightweight option that installs OpenClaw onto your system, with a paid setup service if you want one. Whichever you pick, download it from the publisher's own link.
Related guides: